South River EMC


Utility Company

About Us

South River Electric Membership Corporation is an electric distribution cooperative whose headquarters is in Dunn, North Carolina. The Cooperative also has a District Operations Center in Fayetteville for the convenience of our membership.

Our Cooperative serves over 43,000 consumer/members in Harnett, Cumberland, Sampson, Johnston and Bladen counties. South River EMC has 107 employees and is owned and operated by the consumer/members who use its services. The company is managed by CEO & Executive Vice President Chris Spears. A slate of nine directors is elected by the members at the annual meeting on the basis of one vote per member. Directors serve three-consecutive-year term before being eligible for re-election.

South River EMC is a non-profit organization chartered in 1940. The cooperative’s electric plant is valued in excess of $215 million. The cooperative has just over 4,569 miles of energized distribution and transmission lines and 38 substations.

Employees, directors and members of the nation's electric cooperatives are active participants of political action committees in order to actively take part in the political process, especially where the well-being of electric cooperatives and their members are concerned.

South River EMC is a member of the North Carolina Electric Membership Corporation (link is external), the North Carolina Association of Electric Cooperatives (link is external), Tarheel Electric Membership Association (link is external) and the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (link is external).


Gallery Image electric8.jpg
Gallery Image electric10.jpg
Gallery Image electric9.jpg
Gallery Image electric7.jpg
Gallery Image electric11.jpg
Gallery Image electric6.jpg
Gallery Image electric5.jpg
Gallery Image electric4.jpg
Gallery Image Electric3.jpg
Gallery Image Electric1.jpg
Gallery Image Electric2.jpg
Gallery Image SREMClogo.jpg